Alternate Realities

original

Small, brown and red chunks
outline my mouth untidily.
I’m a filthy eater
I eat like a
ravenous, uncouth beast
My barbarian fingers
dig into
your pale fresh flesh
for more of your
slimy intestines
that cutely wriggle for their life
in my fisted, long, narrow hands.
I eat and I eat and
I have a feast
and tears flow out
of my eyes like
Rome’s Trevi fountain
and I throw a coin
in them for each of
your organ I devour
/wishing
if only you loved me
back the same/
but the coins just
roam around,
dilly dally
and then swiftly
come back to my savage palms
just to be thrown again.

– Ananya Maheshwari

Leave a Reply

